Working Gear was established for the following purpose:

To relieve poverty by providing interview clothing and/or industry appropriate clothing to low income or unemployed individuals in search of employment.

Many work-ready men have difficulty in accessing paid employment because they lack appropriate attire. Our goal is to reduce or eliminate this barrier. We provide low-income men with industry appropriate clothing at no cost, which greatly assists them in returning to full-time employment. Working closely with employment service providers ensures recipients are work ready and have the support available to keep a job.

Working Gear Clothing Society acknowledges that we are operating in an area located on the unceded Coast Salish territory of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. 

 

Pink Buffalo Films created this video summarizing our mission and the people we serve

Board of Directors


Working Gear Clothing Society is managed and run by volunteers with NO government funding. We have an incredibly diverse volunteer Board of Directors, Operations Manager, and Advisors, all dedicated to ensuring the organization is a success. Click on each team member’s name to find out more about them.

Lani Brunn

Campaign Coordinator / Volunteer Coordinator Liaison

Peter Crawford

Chair

Chris Brush

Treasurer

Jessica Jimmo

Secretary

Howard Ma

Fund Development

Brent Pollington

Industry Liaison

Genevieve Blondin

Fund Development

Advisors


  • Cal Chan
    In-House Stylist and Operations Coordinator
  • Sarah Beley
    Operations Manager
  • Stephen Flynn
    Founder, Special Advisor
  • Stephanie Descoteaux
    Advisor
  • Dave Namkung
    Special Advisor
  • Barb Miura
    Operations Coordinator
  • Alyssa Patuel
    Logistics Advisor

Booking Agencies

Our services are for low income men returning to work in the Lower Mainland. To be eligible for an appointment, you must be a client with one of our approved referral agencies. Only these agencies can book an appointment. Appointments are available Wednesdays and Thursdays 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM and Saturdays 10:00 AM to 12:00 AM. Missed appointments will not be re-booked. For questions about our services, please visit our FAQ section.

ACCESS Futures
Shannon McConaghy 778-395-0385  smcconaghy@accessfutures.com
Shannon McMilan 604-251-7955  smcmillan@accessfutures.com

Rebekka or Fawn – RHackett@accessfutures.com
Administrative Support 604-687-7480  aceadmin@accessfutures.com
Valerie Inglis vinglis@accessfutures.com
http://www.accessfutures.com/

Back In Motion – Skills Connect for Immigrants Program
Toll free: 1-877-277-4832
dyelland@sourcesbc.ca
www.skillsconnect.ca/

Canadian Council on Rehabilitation and Work (CCRW)
Shannon Jacob – Employment Coordinator
Email: sjacob@ccrw.org
604-496-6922  www.ccrw.org/pwip

Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)

Celina Luk   Senior Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor Celina.Luk3@vch.ca

CMHA Vancouver, Fraser Branch: 604-253-4401 ext 253
http://vancouver-fraser.cmha.bc.ca/

Community Employment Services (CES)
Corrections Services of Canada
Marcel Chalmers Marcel.chalmers@csc-scc.gc.ca or marcelatlarge@gmail.com
604-666-2160 / 604 306-0451

Drive Youth Employment Services (DYES)
Frog Hollow Neighbourhood House (Services for 16-30 year olds)
WorkBC Vancouver Northeast Employment Centre
604-253-9675  www.d-yes.ca
Email: driveemployment@froghollow.bc.ca

First Nations Employment Society
Brandon Stiles brandons@fnes.ca
604-605-8901 ext’n 13 www.fnes.ca

GT Hiring Solutions
Mary Anne Eimers
M.Eimers@gthiringsolutions.ca
(604) 430-5627 Ext 3104

Harvest Project – North Shore
Donna Bromley / Jane Howard – Client Care Manager
1073 Roosevelt Cresc., North Vancouver, BC  V7P 1M4
604-983-9488
http://www.harvestproject.org/

ISSofBC
Lin Meng 604-684-2561  extension 1137  lin.meng@issbc.org
Lisa Kolbuc 604-684-2561  lisa.kolbuc@issbc.org
501-333 Terminal Avenue, Vancouver
http://issbc.org/

MOSAIC 
WorkBC Employment Services – Vancouver Northeast
Contacts: Caroline Hiebert chiebert@mosaicbc.com ; Isabelle Wu iwu@mosaicbc.com
604-708-9300  www.mosaicbc.com/employment-programs

Open Door Group
WorkBC Employment Services Centre – DTES Vancouver
Contact: April April.li@opendoorgroup.com
604-872-0770  www.opendoorgroup.org
http://vancouverdtesesc.ca/

UGM – Union Gospel Mission
Contact: Mariusz Stepien mstepien@ugm.ca
604-215-5447  ext’n 473  www.ugm.ca

Urban Native Youth Association – Aboriginal Transition Program 
Transition workers:
Sopheary Chea & David Minor – transition2@unya.bc.ca
http://www.unya.bc.ca/

Vancouver Coastal Health Authority
288 – 2750 East Hastings St., Vancouver BC V5K 1Z9

Westcoast Genesis Society
Hannah Cockerham 604-636-3578  hannahcockerham@w-g-s-.ca
305 Carnarvon Street, New Westminster
http://www.westcoastgenesissociety.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – City Centre
Family Services of Greater Vancouver
Contact: Evelin Antonio 604-434-0367 ext. 3213  eantonio@fsgv.ca
http://vancouvercitycentreesc.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Fraser Works Co-op

Working Man’s Closet 604-522-9701 ext. 123  wmc@fraserworks.ca

http://fraserworks.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Maple Ridge
Kathy Babichuk 604-466-4610  babichukk@workbcmapleridge.ca
Liba Thomsen 604-460-3327  thomsenl@workbcmapleridge.ca
510 – 22470 Dewdney Trunk Road, Maple Ridge
http://workbcmapleridge.ca/

 

WorkBC Services Centre – Newton
Suite #110-7525 King George Blvd, Surrey, BC V3W 5A8
Alison Smyth, 778-728-0175 extension 1467, alisons@options.bc.ca
Harminder Dhaliwal, 778-728-0175 extension 1467, harminderd@options.bc.ca
Jagjit Kaur, 778-728-0175 extension 1467 jagjitk@options.bc.ca

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Pacific Community Resources
Amy Pang 604-636-1124  apang@pcrs.ca
7292 Kingsway Avenue, Burnaby
http://www.pcrs.ca/employment-services-centres

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Surrey, Fleetwood, Guildford
Daniel Lee 604-580-9749  dwlee@sfgesc.ca
Brandon Gorin 604-580-9740  bgorin@sfgesc.ca
202 – 10334 152A Street, Surrey
https://www.workbc.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Vancouver Midtown
Patricia Leiser 604-829-2300  pleiser@vmesc.ca
Aaron Burnell 604-829-2300  aburnell@vmesc.ca
Katrina Stock 604-709-5720  kstock@vmesc.ca
http://vancouvermidtownesc.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Vancouver Westside
Cliff Thorbes cthorbes@ywcavan.org
http://www.ywcavan.org/programs/employment-programs-services/ywca-workbc-centres

Whalley WorkBC Centre
Contacts: Resource Room 604-584-0003 extension 236 resource.staff@options.bc.ca

YMCA – Vancouver Experience Works Youth BEAT program
955 Burrard Street, Vancouver
http://www.vanymca.org/cs/experienceworks.html

YMCA of Greater Vancouver
Cleaning and Janitorial Services Training
Employment & Immigration Services

YWCA Career Zone
WorkBC Employment Services Centre
Contact: gdangela@ywcavan.org
604-605-4666  www.ywcajobseeker.org