Working Gear was established for the following purpose:

To relieve poverty by providing interview clothing and/or industry appropriate clothing to low income or unemployed men in search of employment.

Many work-ready men have difficulty in accessing paid employment because they lack appropriate attire. Our goal is to reduce or eliminate this barrier. We provide low income men with industry appropriate clothing at no cost, which greatly assists them in returning to full time employment. Working closely with employment service providers ensures recipients are work ready and have the support available to keep a job.

Pink Buffalo Films created this video summarizing our mission and the people we serve

Board of Directors


Working Gear Clothing Society is managed and run by volunteers with NO government funding. We have a incredibly diverse volunteer Board of Directors and Operations Coordinator, all dedicated to ensuring the organization is a success. Click on each team member’s name to find out more about them.

Frank Kusmer

Board Chair

Lani Johnson

Campaign Coordinator / Volunteer Coordinator Liaison

Stephen Flynn

Founder & Referral Agency Liaison

Peter Crawford

Fund Development

Stephanie Descoteaux

Treasurer

Jessica Jimmo

Secretary

John Warrington

Member at Large

Advisors


  • Sarah Beley
    Volunteer & Operations Coordinator
  • Howard Ma
    Special Advisor

Booking Agencies

Our services are for low income men returning to work in the Lower Mainland. To be eligible for an appointment, you must be a client with one of our approved referral agencies. Only these agencies can book an appointment. Appointments are available Wednesdays and Thursdays 6:00 PM to 8:00 PM and Saturdays 10:00 AM to 12:00 AM. Missed appointments will not be re-booked. For questions about our services, please visit our FAQ section.

ACCESS Futures
Shannon McConaghy  778-395-0385  smcconaghy@accessfutures.com
Shannon McMilan  604-251-7955   smcmillan@accessfutures.com
Eddie Taylor   604-760-0895    etyalor@accessfutures.com
Administrative Support  604-687-7480  aceadmin@accessfutures.com
Valerie Inglis  vinglis@accessfutures.com
http://www.accessfutures.com/

Avia Employment
WorkBC Employment Services Centre
Alicia G   aliciag@aviaemployment.ca
Manjit Basi   778-732-0290    manjit.basi@aviaemployment.ca
Lily Sun   778-730-0174  lily.sun@aviaemployment.ca
http://www.aviaemployment.ca/

Back In Motion – Skills Connect for Immigrants Program
Karen Wang, MEd, CDP – Employment Counselor
Toll free: 1-877-277-4832
KarenW@backinmotion.com
www.skillsconnect.ca/

Canadian Council on Rehabilitation and Work (CCRW)
Partners for Workplace Inclusion Program (PWIP)
Dayna Lyn Yelland  dyelland@ccrw.org ; Yenny Paez  ypaez@ccrw.org
604-496-6922    www.ccrw.org/pwip

Canadian Mental Health Association (CMHA)
Celina Luk   Senior Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor  Celina.Luk3@vch.ca
Erin McElligott   Senior Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor   Erin.McElligott@vch.ca
CMHA Vancouver, Fraser Branch:   604-253-4401 ext 253
http://vancouver-fraser.cmha.bc.ca/

Community Employment Services (CES)
Corrections Services of Canada
Marcel Chalmers  Marcel.chalmers@csc-scc.gc.ca or marcelatlarge@gmail.com
604-666-2160 / 604 306-0451

Drive Youth Employment Services (DYES)
Frog Hollow Neighbourhood House (Services for 16-30 year olds)
WorkBC Vancouver Northeast Employment Centre
604-253-9675  www.d-yes.ca
Email:  driveemployment@froghollow.bc.ca

First Nations Employment Society
Brandon Stiles  brandons@fnes.ca
604-605-8901 ext’n 13   www.fnes.ca

GT Hiring Solutions
Mary Anne Eimers
M.Eimers@gthiringsolutions.ca
604-636-1124

Harvest Project – North Shore
Donna Bromley / Jane Howard – Client Care Manager
1073 Roosevelt Cresc., North Vancouver, BC  V7P 1M4
604-983-9488
http://www.harvestproject.org/

ISSofBC
Lin Meng    604-684-2561  extension 1137  lin.meng@issbc.org
Lisa Kolbuc   604-684-2561   lisa.kolbuc@issbc.org
501-333 Terminal Avenue, Vancouver
http://issbc.org/

MOSAIC                                                                         
WorkBC Employment Services – Vancouver Northeast
Contacts: Caroline Hiebert  chiebert@mosaicbc.com ; Isabelle Wu  iwu@mosaicbc.com
604-708-9300   www.mosaicbc.com/employment-programs

Open Door Group
WorkBC Employment Services Centre – DTES Vancouver
Contacts: Vaneza Villaceran  vaneza.villaceran@opendoorgroup.org
604-872-0770     www.opendoorgroup.org
http://vancouverdtesesc.ca/

UGM – Union Gospel Mission
Contact: Mariusz Stepien  mstepien@ugm.ca
604-215-5447  ext’n 473    www.ugm.ca

Urban Native Youth Association – Aboriginal Transition Program 
Transition workers:
Sopheary Chea & David Minor –  transition2@unya.bc.ca
http://www.unya.bc.ca/

Vancouver Coastal Health Authority
288 – 2750 East Hastings St., Vancouver BC V5K 1Z9

Westcoast Genesis Society
Hannah Cockerham   604-636-3578  hannahcockerham@w-g-s-.ca
305 Carnarvon Street, New Westminster
http://www.westcoastgenesissociety.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – City Centre
Family Services of Greater Vancouver
Contact: Evelin Antonio   604-434-0367 ext. 3213  eantonio@fsgv.ca
http://vancouvercitycentreesc.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Fraser Works
Robin Graham   604-517-8393 extension 123   robing@fraserworks.ca
Vanessa M   604-522-9701   vanessam@fraserworks.ca
http://fraserworks.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Maple Ridge
Kathy Babichuk   604-466-4610    babichukk@workbcmapleridge.ca
Liba Thomsen   604-460-3327    thomsenl@workbcmapleridge.ca
510 – 22470 Dewdney Trunk Road, Maple Ridge
http://workbcmapleridge.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Pacific Community Resources
Amy Pang     604-636-1124   apang@pcrs.ca
7292 Kingsway Avenue, Burnaby
http://www.pcrs.ca/employment-services-centres

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Surrey, Fleetwood, Guildford
Daniel Lee    604-580-9749    dwlee@sfgesc.ca
Brandon Gorin    604-580-9740   bgorin@sfgesc.ca
202 – 10334 152A Street, Surrey
https://www.workbc.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Vancouver Midtown
Patricia Leiser   604-829-2300   pleiser@vmesc.ca
Aaron Burnell   604-829-2300    aburnell@vmesc.ca
Katrina Stock  604-709-5720   kstock@vmesc.ca
http://vancouvermidtownesc.ca/

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Vancouver Westside
Cliff Thorbes   cthorbes@ywcavan.org
http://www.ywcavan.org/programs/employment-programs-services/ywca-workbc-centres

WorkBC Employment Services Centre – Whalley
Options Community Services Society
Contacts: Linda Child   604-584-0003 extension 236   lindac@options.bc.ca
Coralee Spier  604-584-0003 extension 227  coralees@options.bc.ca
www.whalleyesc.ca

YMCA – Vancouver Experience Works
Cleo Johnston – 604-673-6154  cleo.johnston@gv.ymca.ca
Roger Pain – 604-673-6159  roger.pain@gv.ymca.ca
955 Burrard Street, Vancouver
http://www.vanymca.org/cs/experienceworks.html

YMCA of Greater Vancouver
Michelle Leong – Job Developer, Cleaning and Janitorial Services Training
Employment & Immigration Services

YWCA Career Zone
WorkBC Employment Services Centre
Contacts: Waren Grossman  wgrossman@ywcavan.org ; Bonnie McLellan  bmclellan@ywcavan.org
604-605-4666    www.ywcajobseeker.org